On the way 6

Last night, when I was walking home with my friend from the mall, we passed through some peoples, the bajaj driver that slept beside their bajaj. They slept on the pedestrian, and the left their bajaj stayed beside them. “Look at them, how can they sleep like that, without bed or pillow and over the hard rock,” my friend said. “And they can sleep deeply, like it looks so comfort. It was almost midnight and it’s usual for us being a little bit afraid when walking in the dark of night, but they just sleep and it seems doesn’t matter where and when they sleep, like they don’t care about anything. ”

My friend’s comment lead me thought about it, how could they slept so comfort, how can they lost in their heavy sleep. If it was I, I was sure that I couldn’t even closed my eyes in their condition. First, I couldn’t sleep in the uncomfortable condition like it. And the second, I was afraid for the wicked people who could harm me. But looked these people. How could they do it? Well, I thought because they had no worry about their life. They didn’t think about their possession, what they had, maybe because they thought they had no precious things so they were not disturbed by worrying their treasures. But when it was me, I worried the wicked people would rob me, or seek after my money. Why did I worry? Because I was afraid for losing my treasures, because I thought I would lose my comfort life.

You see, many of us worrying about many things because we set up our heart over them. We bound our heart to the world wealth. Learn from our Buddhist friend, they emptied themselves. They wasted everything and they left the world life, I mean the comfort and fun life -according to us- and because they had nothing that bound their heart, they could life peacefully, no worrying anymore. But I thought it couldn’t be happened to us, because we fulled ourselves with everything that the world offered, we were after money, fun, comfortable life, updated technology, luxurious lifestyle, and there are still many things that we were after. I myself admit that it was hard to life without treasures and I couldn’t imagine how could I life without money. But I thought the important one was not let my heart after my world treasures, because life itself more important than any treasure. It’s true that we needed money for life but without money I thought we still could keep our life, looked the life of our ancestor, the ancient cavemen, at least they had proved it.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also – Mat 6: 19-21

Leave a Reply

